Oscars 2020: How to watch the awards show and red carpet online

Oscars 2020: How to watch the awards show and red carpet online

There’s still a little while before the Oscars. Between now and Feb. 9, the BAFTAs and the Screen Actors Guild Awards will take place, and those will likely help shape Oscars predictions. Or you can boycott the Oscars entirely, depending on how you feel about the lack of diversity in major acting categories and best director (Greta Gerwig was sadly snubbed).

But if you’re a Joker fan, you’re in for a real treat. Hold your breath during the 11 categories the most nominated movie is up for (yes, the most nominated movie at the Oscars is a comic book movie).

Loading...

1917, The Irishman and Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood are also among the best picture front-runners, with 10 nominations each. Check out how to watch the Oscars (which are going hostless for the second year in a row) below.

Date and start time

The Oscars will take place at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, California.

US: The Oscars start at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET on Sunday, Feb. 9.

UK: The Oscars start at 1 a.m. GMT on Monday, Feb. 10.

Australia: The Oscars start at midday AEST on Monday, Feb. 10.

How to watch the Oscars online

The Oscars will air on ABC in the US. To stream online, there are a couple of options:

  • ABC is streaming the live broadcast of the Oscars on the ABC website, but only to specific cities and only after you sign in with a participating pay TV provider — typically a cable company, satellite provider or livestreaming service.
  • Another option is Locast, which streams local broadcasters, including ABC, in certain large US cities, for free. And of course, you could always use an antenna to try to pick up the ABC station in your area (DVR optional).
  • If you subscribe to a live TV streaming service that carries ABC in your city, you can use it to watch the Oscars too. AT&T TV Now (previously DirecTV Now), Hulu with Live TV and YouTube TV all carry ABC in most US cities. All of them offer a seven-day free trial, so you can sign up now and cancel after the ceremony if you want. Note that Sling TV, Fubo TV, AT&T Watch Now and Philo don’t carry ABC at all.

Disclosure: CNET may get a share of revenue from the sale of products featured on this page.

DirecTV Now’s basic, $50-a-month Live a Little package includes ABC. You can use its channel lookup tool to see if you get a live feed of Fox and the other local networks in your ZIP code. Read full review……Read More>>

 

Source:- cnet

Share:
Loading...