How to hide, unfriend, or block someone on Facebook

How to hide, unfriend, or block someone on Facebook

These days, it’s no longer surprising when a friend or acquaintance suddenly breaks into a rant on your Facebook feed. It can be triggered by anything from a politician’s tweet to a movie spoiler to the type of mask someone’s wearing (or whether they’re wearing one at all).

If somebody on your Facebook feed has crossed what you consider to be a line, then you can use a number of methods to remove their posts — or them — from sight. You can unfriend them, block them, snooze them (so you won’t see anything from them for 30 days), or simply hide one of their entries. Here’s a rundown of how to accomplish each.

Loading...

Note: All of these directions are for the “new” version of Facebook on your desktop.

HIDE A POST

Let’s say somebody whom you otherwise like writes a rave review of a movie that you absolutely loathed. Because you are friends, it appears on your timeline. You really don’t want your other friends to have to read that so-wrong review. Don’t sweat it! It’s easy to hide that one post so that it simply doesn’t appear on your timeline. (It will, of course, still appear on the timeline of the person who wrote it, but there’s nothing you can do about that.)

Just click on the three dots on the upper-right of the entry. You can hide that specific post, or “snooze” the person who put up the post for 30 days. You can also unfollow the person, which means that you will no longer see their entries on your timeline, but you will not be unfriending them.

Note: If you hide a post and then change your mind, you can find it again, although it will take a bit of doing:

  • Click on the arrow on the upper-right corner of your Facebook page
  • Select “Settings & Privacy” > “Activity Log”
  • In the column on the left, look for “Filter” (it will be a small blue link in the upper-right corner of the column) and click on it
  • Scroll down to and select “Hidden from Timeline.” Click on “Save Changes.”
  • You should see the hidden posts in the left-hand column. Hover your cursor over the entry you want to unhide, click on the three dots, and you should be able to restore it…Read more>>

Source:-theverge

Share:
Loading...