Completely delete your Facebook account, loose ends and all

Completely delete your Facebook account, loose ends and all

Deleting your Facebook account isn’t as simple as clicking a button. Here’s everything you need to know.

Some see Facebook as a welcome way to stay in touch with relatives and friends across the world, and interact with groups of people with similar interests. Other see a darker side filled with political fightingprivacy oversteps and rampant misinformation. Others still may just crave a break.

Whatever your reason, we’ll show you how to delete every trace of your Facebook account. It’s important to note that there’s a difference between deleting your Facebook account and deactivating it. Deleting Facebook also severs ties to Facebook Messenger, the social platform’s chat app. If you want to also delete Instagram and WhatsApp, which are Facebook properties, you’ll need to do that separately.

Deactivating your Facebook account temporarily freezes it, which is useful if you want a brief hiatus. But that does nothing to stop the company from tracking your online activity. In order to fully cut ties with Facebook, deleting your account is the only answer. It’s a process that takes some time and patience. Below are the steps you’ll need to follow, as well as some factors you’ll need to take into account prior to going through with it. This story updates periodically with new information.

Delete the Facebook app from your phone

The first step is to delete the app from your smartphone or tablet. Remember that deleting the Facebook app doesn’t delete your account — you can still access it from the browser and other apps might still use Facebook as a login.

Removing the icon from your phone gets it out of sight and mind, but it doesn’t do anything to your Facebook account overall. You’ll need to make sure you do all these other steps or Facebook can still track your online activity. ReadMore

 

Source : cnet

 

 

Share: